Discussion: View Thread

Last Chance to Register: Pudelko on "How IHRM Can (Re)Gain the Scholarly High Ground"!!

  • 1.  Last Chance to Register: Pudelko on "How IHRM Can (Re)Gain the Scholarly High Ground"!!

    Posted 9 days ago

    Join us for our 17th IHRM Webinar: Markus Pudelko on "Is International Human Resource Management (IHRM) under the resource-based view too relevant to be left to IHRM scholars? How IHRM can (re)gain the scholarly high ground?"

    Please register for our next IHRM Webinar that will take place this Friday, June 24 when our presenter Markus Pudelko (Tübingen University, Germany) will discuss "Is International Human Resource Management (IHRM) under the resource-based view too relevant to be left to IHRM scholars? How IHRM can (re)gain the scholarly high ground?"

    Global Start Times:

    08:30 - 09:30 PST (Vancouver, Los Angeles)
    11:30 - 12:30 EST (Toronto, New York)
    16:30 - 17:30 BST (London)
    17:30 - 18:30 CEST (Berlin, Paris)
    18:30 - 19:30 TRT (Istanbul)
    23:30-00:30 CST (Beijing)
    12:30 – 1:30 a.m. JST (Tokyo, Kyoto)
    1:30 – 2:30 a.m. AEST (Melbourne, Sydney)

    15:30 - 16:30 UCT
    Find your time zone here 

    Registration: The event is free and open to anyone who is interested but you must register to receive the link for attending. The link will be emailed to you 24 hours before the event. Please register here.

    As an international partnership, the IHRM series welcomes speakers from all over the world and multiple time zones. This session will be recorded and shared with all registrants, to help those who are not able to attend it live.

    About the presentation:
    The resource-based view argues that sustainable competitive advantage derives from developing superior capabilities and resources. For organizations, no other resource is as relevant as human resources – and in times of globalization this implies international human resources. As a consequence, strategy research moved increasingly away from a microeconomics to a behavioral paradigm. This should have implied golden times for (I)HRM scholarship. But was this the case? Probably not. One could gain the impression that international human resources are perceived as simply too relevant to be left to IHRM scholars. After briefly retracing the development of IHRM as a scholarly field, this webinar puts forward suggestions of how to make IHRM scholarship more relevant.


    About the speaker:
    Professor Markus Pudelko is Director of the Department of International Business at Tübingen University School of Business and Economics. He earned Master degrees in Business Studies (University of Cologne), Economics (Sorbonne University) and International Management (Community of European Management Schools - CEMS) and a PhD (University of Cologne).


    Before joining Tübingen University, he worked for eight years for the University of Edinburgh Business School. For longer-term research purposes, he visits frequently other universities, such as Columbia University, Doshisha University, Dubai University, EAFIT, ESCP, Fudan University, Hebrew University Jerusalem, IESE, Korea University, Melbourne University, Peking University, San Francisco de Quito University, San José State University, Simon Fraser University, Sophia University, Stellenbosch University, Sydney University, Umea University, Vaasa University and Waseda University.

    His current research focuses on headquarters-subsidiary relationships, multinational individuals and teams, the impact of language on international business, trust, international HRM, Chinese and Japanese management and cross-cultural management. He has published on these topics in books, book chapters and journals such as Academy of Management Journal, Human Resource Management, Journal of International Business Studies, Journal of World Business, Leadership Quarterly and Long Range Planning. He has received several research awards, among others from the Academy of Management and the Academy of International Business.

    This session will be moderated by Maral Muratbekova, Professor of the Department of Management, ESCP Business School, Paris, France.

    About this series:
    This event is part of an IHRM Webinar Series, organized by the Centre for Global Workforce Strategy at Simon Fraser University (Canada), the Center for International Human Resource Studies at the Pennsylvania State University (USA), Clarion (soon to be Pennsylvania Western) University (USA), and ESCP Business School and RIT Croatia (Europe).


    Previous installments of the IHRM Webinar Series are available online at our YouTube Channel.



    ------------------------------
    Miguel R. Olivas-Lujan, Ph.D.
    Professor & former Chair, Management & Marketing dept.
    Pennsylvania Western U. (starting this July 2022); Clarion, PA USA 16214
    Senior Editor, Advanced Series in Management
    Email: molivas@clarion.edu
    ------------------------------