Discussion: View Thread

Alternative Institutionalism: Theory, Methods, and Topics

  • 1.  Alternative Institutionalism: Theory, Methods, and Topics

    Posted 08-06-2020 15:42
    Real-Time Panel Symposium (Session 338)
    Alternative Institutionalism: Theory, Methods, and Topics


    Monday August 10
    13:00 - 14:30 (PDT)
    15:00 - 16:30 (CDT)
    16:00 - 17:30 (EDT)
    21:00 - 22:30 (London Time)
    22:00 - 23:30 (Vienna Time)
    23:00 - 00:30 (Jerusalem Time)


    Organizers & moderators:
    Yuan Li, Saint Mary's College of California 
    Derek Harmon, University of Michigan


    Panelists:
    Paul Hirsch, Northwestern University
    Renate Meyer, WU Vienna & Copenhagen Business School
    Cliff Oswick, City University of London
    Tammar B. Zilber, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
    Roy Suddaby, University of Victoria (Guest appearance) 


    Sponsoring divisions:
    Organization and Management Theory (Showcase Symposium)
    Organization Development and Change
    Management History 


    Description:
    This symposium gathers scholars who have critically intervened institutional theory at various junctures in its history, and who have developed perhaps alternative "brands" of institutionalism: "cultural institutionalism," "discursive institutionalism," "multimodal semiotic institutionalism," and "emotional institutionalism." The aim of the symposium is to foster a dialogue between critics of institutional theory. The dialogue will focus on three sets of questions: theory, methods, and hot topics. This symposium will provide conceptual depth in terms of philosophical underpinnings for institutional theory, and it will explore methodological tools and empirical settings most fitting for the different alternatives of institutionalism.
    #AOM2020


    ------------------------------
    Yuan Li, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Organization Theory
    School of Economics and Business Administration
    Saint Mary's College of California
    ------------------------------