Discussion: View Thread

  • 1.  MH Divisional Awards 2023

    Posted 05-22-2023 21:05

    The Management History Division is pleased to announce three of its members will be recognized for their contributions to the study of management history at this year's annual meeting in Boston.

    Albert Mills and David Van Fleet will be given the Ronald G. Greenwood Award, in recognition of "a lifetime contribution to the study of management history and active involvement in the Management History Division".

    Milorad Novisevic will be given the Richard M. Hodgetts Award in recognition of his contributions to the study of management history, teaching, and service to the Academy of Management and the Management History Division.

    Albert Mills, (Ph.D. University of Durham), is Emeritus Professor of Management, Sobey School of Business, Saint Mary's University, Canada. He has published over 50 books, monographs, and special issues as well as more than 140 refereed journal articles. He has also served as past president of the Administrative Sciences Association of Canada and as editor, co-editor, or editorial board member of numerous journals. Albert has served the MHD as Member-at-Large representative and active participant at annual meetings.

    David Van Fleet, (Ph.D., University of Tennessee), is Professor Emeritus, W.P. Carey School of Business, Arizona State University, Fellow of the Academy of Management and of the Southern Management Association, and former chair of the MHD in addition to numerous other leadership roles in the MHD and other professional organizations. He has authored more the 220 publications and has served as editor for the Journal of Behavioral and Applied Management and the Journal of Management. Dave has been a member of the MHD for over 50 years.

    Milorad Novisevic, (Ph.D. University of Oklahoma), is a former chair of the Management History Division. His research focuses primarily on the historical, global, ethical, and educational aspects of leadership. He has published more than 170 journal articles and was co-editor for many years of the Academy of Management Proceedings. His poplar doctoral seminar MGMT 578 - History of Management at Ole Miss was built on his experiences as a graduate student in Daniel Wren's G4523 - History of Management course at OU.

    All three are valued colleagues whose contributions have had a significant impact on the study of management history. Following the MHD business meeting, at which the awards will be presented, a reception will be held in their honor.

    Trevor Israelsen
    The Pennsylvania State University
    State College PA

  • 2.  RE: MH Divisional Awards 2023

    Posted 05-23-2023 10:19
    Warmest congratulations to Albert, David and Milorad - all well deserved.

    See you in Boston!

    Best wishes,

    Dr. Kevin D. Tennent
    Reader in Management
    SBS Management AACSB AoL Coordinator
    School for Business and Society
    Tel: +44 (0) 1904 325002
    Research Coordinator of CCBHS: https://www.york.ac.uk/management/centres/mohrc/